Thursday, July 16, 2009

The November Nine...

The Main Event of the 2009 World Series of Poker now will pause until November 7th. The final nine players have been assembled. As was the case last year, to allow for "greater" media coverage of the Main Event, and to build anticipation for the ESPN airing the break will allow broadcast of the rest of the series and lead up to the final table play of the "November Nine."

Here they are:

Seat 1: Darvin Moon - 58,930,000
Seat 2: James Akenhead - 6,800,000
Seat 3: Phil Ivey - 9,765,000
Seat 4: Kevin Schaffel - 12,390,000
Seat 5: Steven Begleiter - 29,885,000
Seat 6: Eric Buchman - 34,800,000
Seat 7: Joe Cada - 13,215,000
Seat 8: Antoine Saout - 9,500,000
Seat 9: Jeff Shulman - 19,580,000

This assembly of players is certain to make for an exciting final table. All are to be congratulated for this amazing feat, but in this, the greatest of all poker tournaments there will ultimately be only one winner. $1,263,602 is the minimum that any one of them can go away with at this point, but at the top of the pile a champion will emerge to walk away with $8,546, 435 and the WSOP gold bracelet. Players, congratulations to you all!

And now for the long break...



1 comment:

Frank said...

The chip leader, Moon, won his seat through a satellite at WV's own Wheeling Island.